Lets talk about: Protein

This is probably one of the most frequent questions one gets asked as vegan. Where do you get your protein from? Although I kinda giggle when I still get asked, its quite shocking to me that most people are unaware how many forms there are of plant based protein.  Most of them are shockingly in things you already eat. There are also great substitutes such as tofu, tempeh and sietan. Have no fear, SK the vegan is here, I will walk you all the way through the wonderful world of plant power protein. Even if you don’t want to become plant based or vegan, eating more of these planted proteins will certainly bring about some positive outcomes not only for yourself but the plants and the animals as well.

Kale

ALL HAIL KALE ! 

Kale is by far one of my best friends in the kitchen, it is one of the biggest staples in my kitchen and can be used for a number of things.( Including the best ever creamy garlicky kale slaw recipe coming soon). I also use this high protein green in just about anything and everything; pasta, stews, soups, noodles, smoothies and even juices. Not to mention that kale is also highly fibrous and will also give you a very happy and healthy digestive system.

Mushrooms

Mushrooms are another huge protein staple in my kitchen, they can be a great meat substitute when you are looking to add some texture to your meals. There are also endless varieties of mushrooms, you are sure to find one that you will like. My favourite mushrooms are Portobello or Oyster and they both have completely different flavours and textures but both are incredibly yummy and packed with protein.

Broccoli

If you had told me that one of my favourite things to eat when I grew up would have been broccoli. I would have not believed it myself, But here I am loving those little green trees. They are so nutritious and delicious. A little sprinkle of salt and steamed up with some garlic and you have yourself a punch of protein that will fuel you through the day.

Tofu

I don’t know why tofu gets such bad wrap, it can actually be amazingly delicious, but it all depends on the seasoning. Like any other food you would typically season then prepare, there are so many cool and interesting ways to flavour tofu and so many different ways to cook it. One thing always remains the same though, tofu is high in protein and an excellent meat replacement for someone who is looking to make the transition into a more plant based lifestyle . If you tried tofu once and didn’t like it, try it again I can promise you there is tofu dish out there that you will love.

Quinoa

If you haven’t heard of Quinoa I’m not sure where you have been.It has been blowing up as one of the best superfoods. It is actually a seed that you can treat like a carb, you can replace for rice or even pasta. It is considered a complete protein meaning that it is filled with all the amnio acids that your body needs to thrive.

I really hope this gives you guys some insight into the fact that not all protein comes from animals or animal products there are such a wide variety of high proteins foods at our finger tips that you have already been eating. Honourable mentions to the other plant proteins not referenced in my post.

Beans, Lentils, Corn, Peas, Spinach, Artichokes,Collard Greens,Zucchinis, Beets, Cauliflower and Buk Choy.

One thought on “Lets talk about: Protein

  1. teacakesand

    Great post. I personally hate kale (cannot stomach it at all!) but I mainly get my proteins from beans and lentils! I never get why people don’t think we don’t get enough protein either, if anything most people who eat meat tend to have too much protein!

    Like

Leave a Reply

